Space Technology Cells

ISRO has also set up Space Technology Cells at premiere institutions like Indian Institutes of Technology (IITs) - Bombay, Kanpur, Kharagpur & Madras; Indian Institute of Science (IISc), Bangalore and Joint Research Programme with Savitribai Phule Pune University (SPPU)  to carry out research activities in the areas of space technology and applications. These STCs and JRP are guided by Joint Policy Committees (JPC) chaired by Director/Vice Chancellor of the respective institution and with members from ISRO/DOS (Senior Scientists/Engineers) & the respective institution. The joint policy committee, duly assisted by technical/ scientific committee at six ISRO-STC cells in IITs and IISc, reviews and suitable proposals are approved for taking up research.

Under the STC, projects are taken up by the faculty of the Institute. For more details visit:;;;

Click the link below to see the List of completed projects taken up under STCs from 2008  till April 2018

Click the link below to see the List of on-going projects under STCs as of April 2018

Space Technology Cells are currently operational at :

  • IITs (Bombay, Kanpur, Kharagpur and Madras) : 4
  • IISc Bangalore : 1
  • Joint Research Programme at SP Pune Uni. : 1

The broad areas of research by STCs include :


Aerodynamics Materials metallurgy Combustion  Aerospace Controls
Communications Propulsion Space physics Metallurgy Composites
Heat transfer Power electronics Cryogenics Structures Gas dynamics
Signal processing  Simulations Space radiation Data compression & processing Navigation and guidance
Geo-informatics Supersonic flow studies Rural development Remote sensing  Developmental communication