National Emblem

अंतरिक्ष विभाग
भारतीय अंतरिक्ष अनुसंधान संगठन

लोक सूचना : सावधान : नौकरी पाने के इच्छुक उम्मीदवार

यू.आर.राव उपग्रह केंद्र (यू.आर.एस.सी), अं‍तरिक्ष विभाग, इसरो, बेंगलूरु में प्रतिनियुक्ति के आधार पर वेतन मैट्रिक्‍स (7वां केंद्रीय वेतन आयोग) के स्‍तर 14 में नियंत्रक के पद की भर्ती (आवेदन की अंतिम तिथि है: 15/11/2021)
चंद्रयान-2 विज्ञान आंकड़ा उपयोगीता के लिए अवसर की घोषणा। प्रस्ताव प्रस्तुत करने की अंतिम तिथि 31 अक्तूबर 2021 है।
वर्तमान ई-प्रापण साइट का नई वेबसाइट में रूपांतरण करना प्रस्तावित है। सभी पंजीकृत/नये विक्रेताओं से नई वेबसाइट का अवलोकन करने तथा इसरो केंद्रों के साथ भाग लेने के लिए अपने प्रत्यय-पत्र का वैधीकरण करने का अनुरोध किया जाता है।

About ISRO

  1. Who is considered as the "founding father" of Indian Space Programme?

Dr Vikram A Sarabhai is considered as the founding father of space programmes in India.


  1. Where the Space Programme began in India?

Indian Space Programme began at Thumba Equatorial Rocket Launching Station (TERLS) located at Thumba near Thiruvanathapuram.


  1. When was ISRO formed?

ISRO was formed on August 15, 1969.


  1. When was Department of Space constituted?

Department of Space (DOS) and the Space Commission were set up in 1972. ISRO was brought under DOS on June 1, 1972.


  1. What is the role of Space Commission and the Department of Space?

Space Commission formulates the policies and oversees the implementation of the Indian space programme to promote the development and application of space science and technology for the socio-economic benefit of the country. Department of Space (DoS) implements these programmes through, mainly, ISRO, Physical Research Laboratory (PRL), National Atmospheric Research Laboratory (NARL), North Eastern-Space Applications Centre (NE-SAC) and Semi-Conductor Laboratory (SCL). Antrix Corporation Ltd., and NewSpace India Limited, Government owned Public Sector Units are set up for commercialization of R&D activities of DoS/ISRO.


  1. How many Centres are there in ISRO?

There are seven major Centres and several other Units, Facilities and Laboratories spread across the country.


  1. What is the major function of these Centres?

Design and development of launch vehicle technology at VSSC,; Satellites are designed and developed at URSC; SDSC SHAR provides Launch Base Infrastructure for launch; Development of liquid stages and cryogenic stage is carried out at LPSC, Sensors for Communication and Remote Sensing satellites and application aspects of the space technology are taken up at SAC; Remote Sensing satellite data reception processing and dissemination by NRSC and HSFC for the execution of Gaganyaan programme and to take up sustained activities in human space flight arena.


  1. Where are these Centres located?

Vikram Sarabhai Space Centre (VSSC) at Thiruvananthapuram; U R Rao Satellite Centre (URSC) at Bengaluru; Satish Dhawan Space Centre (SDSC – SHAR) at Sriharikota; Liquid Propulsion Systems Centre (LPSC) at Thiruvananthapuram and Bengaluru, Space Application Centre (SAC) at Ahmedabad, National Remote Sensing Centre (NRSC) at Hyderabad and Human Space Flight Centre (HSFC) at Bengaluru.