150 Years of Celebrating the MahatmaNational Emblem ISRO Logo
Department of Space, Indian Space Research Organisation


The current e-procurement site is proposed to switch over to new website. All the registered/new vendors are requested to visit new website at https://eproc.isro.gov.in and validate your credentials for participating with ISRO centres.

Prof. Sathish Dhawan Centenary Programme (SDCP)

Prof. Sathish Dhawan Centenary Programme (SDCP)Prof. Satish Dhawan was a passionate teacher, a demanding research guide and a pragmatic engineer, renowned as the father of Experimental Fluid Dynamics Research in India. Prof. Dhawan shaped the Indian Space Programme based on the broad vision of Dr. Vikram Sarabhai. Prof.Satish Dhawan took charge of the Indian space program as  Chairman, ISRO in 1972 and continued till 1984, while he was continuing as Director, IISC. He was also the Chairman of the Space Commission and Secretary to the Govt. of India in the Department of Space. His major scientific and technical contribution to the space programs are operationalising multipurpose Indian National Satellite Project (INSAT), National Natural Resources Management System (NNRMS) and final configuration of India’s Polar Satellite Launch Vehicle (PSLV), the dependable workhorse of ISRO. Following his demise in 2002, the spaceport of India at Sriharikota was renamed after him as the Satish Dhawan Space Centre SHAR. On 25th September 2020, a function was organized in virtual mode to mark the centenary year of his birth and Honorable Prime Minster of India addressed the gathering.