Home >>  Our Chairman >> Biodata
  • Graduate in Electrical Engineering, Kerala University (1970)
  • MBA, Indian Institute of Management (IIM), Bangalore (1976)
  • PhD, Indian Institute of Technology (IIT), Kharagpur (2000)
Date of birth
29 August 1949, Irinjalkuda, Kerala, India
  • Fellow, Indian National Academy of Engineering
  • Member, International Academy of Astronautics
  • Fellow, Andhra Pradesh Academy of Sciences
  • Fellow, Indian Society of Remote Sensing
  • Fellow, Systems Society of India
  • Fellow, Indian Geophysical Union
  • President, Indian Society of Remote Sensing (2005-07)
  • Vice President,Indian Geophysical Union (2007-09)
  • Chairman, Scientific Advisory Board of B M Birla Science Centre, Hyderabad
  • Honorary Life Fellow of The Institution of Engineers(India)
  • Positions held (National)
    Starting his career as an Avionics Engineer in 1971 at the Vikram Sarabhai Space Centre, he commendably held following decisive positions in ISRO and Ministry of Earth Sciences:
    Since October 31, 2009
    Chairman, Space Commission
    Secretary, Department of Space, Government of India
    Chairman, Indian Space Research Organisation
    October 2008 - October 2009
    Member, Space Commission
    Director, Vikram Sarabhai Space Centre, Trivandrum
    Director, National Remote Sensing Agency, Hyderabad
    Founder Director, Indian National Centre for Ocean Information Services (INCOIS)
    The first Project Director of Indian National Tsunami Warning System.
    Mission Director, Integrated Mission for Sustainable Development (IMSD)
    Deputy Director, National Remote Sensing Agency (NRSA), Hyderabad
    Director, National Natural Resources Management
    System-Regional Remote Sensing Service Centres
    Project Director, setting up Regional Remote Sensing Centres
    Director, Budget & Economic Analysis for entire ISRO
    Positions held (International)
    Dr. Radhakrishnan is well recognized in the international scene. As the founder Chairman, he established the Regional alliance in Indian Ocean for the Global Ocean Observing System (IOGOOS) in November 2002 and led it during 2002-06 to become the stand-out GOOS regional alliance of the world. As Vice Chairman of the Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission (IOC) during 2001-05, he made a mark in this apex body under the UN System on Ocean Sciences and Services, with 131 Member States, and played a pivotal role in restructuring the Global Ocean Observing System, the largest and most complex of the scientific and technical programmes led by the IOC. Currently he is leader of the Indian Delegation to the UN Committee on Peaceful Use of Outer Space as well as Chairman of the Working Group of the Whole of its S&T Sub-Committee.
    Home  |  About Us  |  ISRO Centres   |  Launch Vehicles  |  Satellites  |  Ground Facilities  |  Our Chairman
    Related Links   |   Sitemap  |  FAQ   |  Feedback  |  Terms of Use  |  Privacy Policy  |  Contact Us  |  Disclaimer
    Copyright 2008 ISRO, All Rights Reserved.
    Best viewed with a resolution of 1024x768 with Internet Explorer 7.0